Anberlin have released their new EP, Convinced, out today on Equal Vision Records. Following the release of their EP, Silverline last summer, Convinced finds the band continuing to build on their sonic palette. High-powered alternative rock meets a new wave influence to create a correspondence of light and dark moods. Opener and lead single “Lacerate” exemplifies the immense sound Anberlin has created, highlighted by thick guitars, pulsating drums, and the use of electronic elements. Throughout the EP, Stephen Christian’s vocals soar, laying reminder to one of the reasons why audiences fell for the band’s mid-’00s hits like “Feel Good Drag” and “Paperthin Hymn.”

“Decoder” follows in the rock-forward footsteps of “Lacerate” and packs an infectious chorus, while “Banshee” find the band embracing a more pop-driven sound. “Animals” marks one of the band’s most ambitious tracks of late – a slow, gorgeous start builds into a heavy mesh of synths and guitars as you can hear the rage and passion in both the rhythm and vocals. It’s heavy and vibe-y at the same time, drawing influence from acts like Depeche Mode while still being very much Anberlin. The EP ends with the 7-minute long, lush “Nothing More”, a love song that outros with calming waves of piano.

Convinced was self-produced by the band at Feral Sound Studios in Tampa, FL alongside help from friends Tim McTague (of Underoath), Chad Carouthers, and JJ Revell. The EP quickly sold out on vinyl upon announce with a second pressing expected, and it can be streamed here now.

Anberlin will hit the road for a run of dates supporting Yellowcard this July,. The band also has several planned festival appearances coming up including Capulet Fest in Connecticut this weekend, Iowa Is For Lovers festival in August and at Furnace Fest in September. Full schedule below.

Anberlin is Stephen Christian (vocals), Nate Young (drums), Deon Rexroat (bass), Joey Milligan (guitar), and Christian McAlhaney (guitar).

Convinced Tracklist:
1. Lacerate
2. Decoder
3. Banshee
4. Animals
5. Nothing More

Tour Dates:
7/2 – Thompson, CT @ Capulet Fest

w/ Yellowcard
7/27 – Irving, TX @ The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory
7/29 – Phoenix, AZ @ Arizona Financial Theatre
7/30 – Los Angeles, CA @ YouTube Theater
8/01 – San Diego, CA @ Petco Park – Gallagher Square
8/02 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
8/04 – Seattle, WA @ WAMU Theater
8/06 – Salt Lake City, UT @ USANA Amphitheatre
8/08 – Denver, CO @ Levitt Pavilion Denver

8/20 – Council Bluffs, IA @ Iowa is For Lovers Fest
9/22 – Birmingham, AL @ Furnace Fest
About Anberlin:
Formed in 2002, Anberlin broke out with their debut album Blueprints for the Black Market just a year later, which gained notoriety from the success of the single “Readyfuels”. Sophomore release Never Take Friendship Personal (2005) saw the band jump to getting frequent airplay on alternative radio with tracks like “Paperthin Hymn”, and was followed by Cities in 2007. This led to their major label debut for the release of fourth album New Surrender, and the blazing success of hit single “Feel Good Drag”, which currently sits at over 113 million plays on Spotify alone. Riding high, the band entered a heavy touring schedule and went on to release Dark Is the Way, Light Is a Place (2010) and Vital (2012). In 2014 Anberlin announced they would be breaking up, but not before releasing their seventh studio album Lowborn and giving fans a proper send off with an extensive farewell tour. Feeling rejuvenated, the band reformed in December 2018 and ramped up their touring schedule again soon after. Fast-forward to present day and Anberlin is playing lively shows to dedicated audiences and working on creating even more music to sing-along to.