The wait is over for Slowly Getting Better, the debut full-length from Calling All Captains. The album is out now via Equal Vision Records and can be streamed here: Bridging the gap between pop-punk/post-hardcore, Calling All Captains have captured the attention of Broooklyn Vegan, Under The Radar, FLOOD Magazine, and more. Fans can get an in-depth look at the new record via an exclusive track by track, up now on New Noise Magazine.

On their new album, the band shares: “This album is the largest body of work that any of us have ever put out. It really encapsulates the last 10 years of all of our lives. None of us have ever worked so hard or put as much time into something as we all did for this project. We believe it truly showcases our best foot forward as a band. It was a tough 18 months navigating these uncertain times, but we believe we’ve come out of it stronger than ever and with the best team we could ever have hoped to build. We hope this album will mean as much to you as it does to us. We’re all Slowly Getting Better, together.

Calling All Captains will celebrate the release of Slowly Getting Better next week with two special events. On Thursday, November 4th, fans will be able to join the band at The Buckingham in Edmonton for Slowly Getting Better: Making An Album documentary screening as well as an acoustic set and Q & A with the band.

On Friday, November 5th, Calling All Captains is teaming up with 100.3 The Bear for the Slowly Getting Better Album Release Show at Starlite Room in Edmonton. The show will feature special guests Mobina Galore, Dead Friends, and Gutter King.

Originating from small towns outside of Edmonton, Alberta, pop-punk/post-hardcore band Calling All Captains, consisting of Luc Gauthier (vocals), Brad Bremner (guitar/vocals), Connor Dawkins (guitar/vocals), Nick Malychuk (bass), and Tim Wilson (drums), has been manifesting the release of their debut full-length record, Slowly Getting Better, for the past few years and are eager to finally share their creations with the world.

Slowly Getting Better is a compilation of hardships, persistence, love, and acceptance, and is a thrilling follow up to the 2019 EP, Nothing Grows Here. Calling All Captains’ unique sound allows them to dip their toes in both the pop-punk and post-hardcore realms using poppy instrumental elements with a punk-like, aggressive vocal style.

After their initial recording plans were halted in 2020 due to the ongoing pandemic, the band was able to bring in their Nothing Grows Here producer, Quinn Cyrankiewicz, and safely record the album at The Audio Department in their hometown. With more demos and songs than they’d ever written before, the band got to work refining and perfecting every note of every song, taking weeks to decide which were good enough to make the cut for their first debut full length album Slowly Getting Better.

Calling All Captains has a fluid dynamic where each member holds an untold responsibility for writing and being an asset to the band. Luc and Connor are the primary songwriters. Brad focuses on the technical elements. Tim concentrates on the beat, and Nick envisions how the songs will perform live and which technical aspects will draw the crowds in. According to Luc, this collaboration “allows the song to be relatable and personable to each member of the band.

The lyrics on the record reflect the woes of their mid-twenties and issues about drugs and mental health, while simultaneously offering the listener the comfort of someone else who understands the struggle. “Tailspin,” the first single released from the new record, is an energetic and emotional track to kick off this cycle with, and it perfectly highlights the seamless collaboration of all of the members. “We didn’t want any lull points, but we also didn’t want to give too much away about the record,” Brad stated. Connor joins Luc on vocals and takes over a verse to add even more depth to an already technical track.

Slowly Getting Better is a soundtrack for the struggling yet hopeful people out there. “Hang in there. We’ll all get better, together.

For More Information, please visit:

Slowly Getting Better Tracklist:
1. Laurel Canyon
2. Collapse
3. Tailspin
4. Steady Pensive
5. Loving Cup
6. Loyalty
7. Undone
8. Broken Glass
9. Wasted
10. Vacant Sentiment
11. Friends and Family

Upcoming Events:
Nov 4 – Edmonton, AB @ The Buckingham – Slowly Getting Better: Making An Album Documentary Showing, Acoustic Set and Q & A

Nov 5 – Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite Room – Slowly Getting Better Album Release Show w/Mobina Galore, Dead Friends & Gutter King