Legendary independent rock label Equal Vision Records and Codeseven are excited to announce tonight’s release of Go Let It In, the influential ‘90s/‘00s North Carolina-based melodic hardcore band’s first album in 20 years. A soaring 10-song showcase well worth the wait, Go Let It In addresses universal emotions via catchy reflections on falling in and out of love along with hard-hitting tracks aimed at destroying your enemy. Thematically, the band also seeks to find justice in an unjust world on the album, embracing cultural change through the lens of compassion and confronting one’s own anti-social tendencies … and a fear of bugs. Stream and purchase the album on all platforms tonight at midnight HERE.

On the band’s new single and music video out today, Codeseven’s James Tuttle had the following to share ab0ut the inspiration behind the song and clip: “‘Rough Seas’ is about the need for acceptance versus the desire to remain a recluse. The video is a symbolic representation of our band being dead and now active again.” Watch the music video for “Rough Seas” on YouTube HERE.

Codeseven was formed by three brothers and a couple of close friends in Winston-Salem, NC in the fall of 1995 and would release its debut, long-out-of-print EP titled Paper Or Plastic on Huel Records in 1996. In 1998, Codeseven would release A Sense of Coalition, a full-length offering that was catapulted by their daring rendition of Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer,” thus putting the band on the map with a college radio Top 10.

Not long after the release of Coalition, the band headed into the studio to record its Division of Labor EP. Experimenting with heavier sounds yet keeping the band’s melodic edge — which at the time was quite unconventional — Division of Labor hit the streets to numerous rave reviews and interviews in Hit Parader, Metal Maniacs, Terrorizer, and Kerrang. CMJ also praised the record saying, “With chiming guitar tones, quirky time changes and a delicate balance between loudness and melody, Codeseven whirls like Hot Water Music doing a tango with Cave In.” Division of Labor went on to top the CMJ metal charts and be featured on WWE’s Heat.

The band’s final release on The Music Cartel pushed the boundaries of the genre, drawing on the eclectic, experimental interest of Pink Floyd and Bjork while capturing the energy and emotion of punk. The Rescue was produced and engineered by Alex Newport (At the Drive-In, The Mars Volta, The Melvins) and released in May 2002 to critical acclaim and tours with notable acts as Coheed and Cambria, Dredg, Poison the Well, and Hopesfall. The band had also made new fans with the likes of Deftones, Finch, and Year of the Rabbit.

Codeseven spent 2004 writing their Equal Vision Records debut titled Dancing Echoes / Dead Sounds, an album that saw the band expanding their vision in a darker and more electronic manner. The culmination of that evolving sound and friendship that is destined to speak volumes to their peers and those in the mainstream music world, Dancing Echoes / Dead Sounds laid the groundwork for the band’s eventual comeback LP, Go Let It In.

20 years on, Go Let It In was created with this classic DIY spirit that the members of Codeseven — Jeff Jenkins (vocals), James Tuttle (Guitar, Keys), Eric Weyer (Guitar), Jon Tuttle (Bass) and Matt Tuttle (Drums) — exercised fully by tracking all instruments in their respective homes and enjoying the freedom to record at their own pace. With the help of Jeremy Griffith, who was enlisted to co-produce and mix the album, the result is a massive set of songs that find the band aiming to successfully outdo itself.

“With this new record, we tackled what we considered the ultimate challenge: to write and record a full length that sounds as good, if not better, than the last record,” the band summarizes. “Following a 20-year hiatus, this felt like it could be impossible. It’s hard to beat time and nostalgia but we certainly wanted to try. And yes, we think we did.”