SoCal based post-hardcore outfit Dead American released their highly anticipated album New Nostalgia on Velocity Records and Equal Vision Records, available to purchase and stream here. The band has also shared a new video for focus track “Not Buying In”, which can be viewed here. The members – Cove Reber (vocals), Chad Rexton (guitar), Steve Pollock (guitar), Josh Latham (bass, vocals), and Kyle Rosa (drums) are inspired by the classics of their genre but looking to the future with their latest album. The band considers themselves students of the Warped Tour Era, with a palpable amount of  influence taken from artists such as Underoath, My Chemical Romance, Senses Fail, Taking Back Sunday, and New Found Glory mixed with their own original sound and notable musical achievements.

Across 13 tracks, New Nostalgia lives up to it’s name and delivers classic, hard hitting post-hardcore with modern elements that give it a unique sonic imprint. While frustration is the driving point behind the theme of the record, clever lyrics and a combination of heart-wrenching and aggressive undertones make each song relatable to the listeners own experiences. The personalities of each band member shine through and demonstrate the groups prodigious songwriting ability, while making it clear that they were not trying to fit any “acceptable” molds. Rather, the album shines brightest by evoking the past, while looking toward the future with a sense of modernity and in-the-moment urgency.

“Not Buying In” takes the listener on a sonic journey that ebbs and flows between aggressive vocals, angular guitars and a weighty groove. It compliments past singles “Choke” and “Full Of Smoke” in demonstrating the bands innate ability to explore the post-hardcore and alternative landscape with songs that sound relatable and original in equal measure. The official video for “Not Buying In”, which features a caustic live performance from the band, can be viewed here.

Vocalist Cove Reber has this to say about the new album:

“This record is a collection of songs that highlight our frustrations with the world. We recorded these songs pre-pandemic and all they have done in that time is age like a fine wine.”

Dead American will join the Velocity Records Tour presented by Revolver later this month alongside Scary Kids Scaring Kids, D.R.U.G.S., Secrets and Glasslands. Tickets and VIP are available hereNew Nostalgia is available now from Equal Vision Records and Velocity Records here.

Dead American is Cove Reber (vocals), Chad Rexton (guitar), Steve Pollock (guitar), Josh Latham (bass, vocals), and Kyle Rosa (drums)

1. Not Buying In
2. Choke
3. Anything Different
4. The Opposite
5. Hollow Voices
6. Hate Speech
7. Deceivers
8. Can’t Go Back
9. Full Of Smoke
10. Just Let Go
11. Vertigo
12. Reina’s Song (Lost My Mind)
13. Hook, Line, Sinker

About Dead American
Dead American, a five-piece group out of Southern California, began as a project influenced by the desire to tap into the nostalgic sound of 2000s post-hardcore. The members – Cove Reber (vocals), Chad Rexton (guitar), Steve Pollock *guitar), Josh Latham (bass, vocals), and Kyle Rosa (drums) found themselves with songs that “sound like a band from an earlier time but with a modern twist”; thus, their debut album, ‘New Nostalgia,’ was born. The members are all students of the Warped Tour Era, which is why the band takes influence from artists such as Underoath, My Chemical Romance, Senses Fail, Taking Back Sunday, and New Found Glory, but gives them a modern twist. With the intention of not wanting to sound too digitized, the guys went into the studio utilizing producer Fred Archambault’s keen ear for live takes and his ability to capture the true essence of the band’s talents. Fred was essential in keeping the nostalgic vibe, Dead American believes the album would have sounded too modern without Fred’s input. “This is us,” Chad said. “There’s no bullshit or trying to make it sound any different other than what you’d get in a live setting.” Having released just one EP before this album, the band was excited for the opportunity to have more freedom to voice their frustrations through writing. ‘New Nostalgia’ is a set of 13 songs that combines the collective frustrations of the group with topics ranging from relationship struggles to societal issues. When listening, it’s clear that the band was not trying to fit any “acceptable” molds and were simply writing openly after accessing how they were feeling in the moment.