Legendary independent New York-based rock label Equal Vision Records and Kaonashi are pleased to announce the Friday, July 26 release of A Second Chance at Forever: The Brilliant Lies from Casey Diamond, the brand new five-song EP from the emerging Philadelphia experimental post-hardcore band. Advancing the band’s self-developed through line that details the life and times of the character of Jamie, the androgynous protagonist of the group’s catalog, A Second Chance at Forever: The Brilliant Lies from Casey Diamond is a theatrical journey through a muddled high school romance, its wide-ranging complications, and a horrifying discovery at its conclusion. Watch the music video for the EP’s new single, “Passing Through The Hourglass,” on YouTube HERE, and stream the song on all platforms HERE.

Additionally, Kaonashi will be on the road this summer supporting the new EP with appearances in the U.S. with Boundaries, in the UK with The Fall of Troy and Hail The Sun, and in Europe performing headline shows. A full listing of dates, along with festival appearances, can be found below, and information on tickets can be found via the band’s website HERE.

Philadelphia’s Kaonashi wants to create change. The quartet — Peter Rono (vocals), Pao (drums), Ryne Jones (bass), Alex Hallquist (guitar/vocals), — aspire to generate compassion, understanding, and empathy through art. They understand that music is and has always been a force for bringing people together. They’ve made it their mission to leverage the platform that music provides to change the world around them for the better.

“These songs make up a fictional story but it’s rooted in our personal experiences,” Rono explains. “We are starting from the ending and moving to the beginning. On the 2021 LP [‘Dear Lemon House, You Ruined Me: Senior Year’], it’s about Jamie and it’s the tragedy that happens on graduation day. The last release [2024’s ‘The 3 Faces of Beauty: A Violent Misinterpretation Of Morgan Montgomery’] is about Morgan and their junior year. And this album is about Casey and reveals more about how we ended up at this tragedy.”

While the songs draw from the members’ personal experiences, Kaonashi are simultaneously able to construct a parallel universe with their music to get lost inside that’s as cathartic for the band as it is for their fans. “There’s a lot of unfortunate stories to get inspiration from and this really is a tragedy, but it’s therapy for me getting it out in these songs,” he continues.

That said, you don’t have to follow the ongoing narrative to get lost in the album’s sonic earworms. That’s evidently from the opener “Blood Red Camry Dance Party,” an upbeat song that’s teeming with infectious hooks, syncopated synths and a melodic motif that’s impossible to resist. Alternately, “Straycations” sees the band embracing palm-muted guitars and post-hardcore inventiveness to craft a sound that wouldn’t sound of place on the Warped Tour as it showcases the band’s jaw-dropping technical prowess. However, maybe most impressive is the album closer “Exit Pt. VI (The Guilt in the Rearview),” a mid-tempo meditation with a cliffhanger ending that was inspired by Death Cab For Cutie’s Plans. “That’s definitely one of the heaviest songs we’ve ever written in terms of emotion and feeling,” Paolilli explains. “It’s the kind of song we’ve been trying to write and I feel like we just nailed it.”

Whether you’re a fan of metal, hardcore, punk, post-hardcore or pop music, there’s something to latch onto when it comes to A Second Chance at Forever: The Brilliant Lies from Casey Diamond as these songs encompass all of those genres without every sounding forced — a fact that makes defining Kaonashi’s music no simple task. Ultimately, the role of the artist is to create and not to categorize, and generally the public catches up, and it seems like that is finally happening for the band. “We had to take the long route and be misunderstood and overlooked for a long time,” Rono summarizes. “It took ten years of no one caring or just being an underdog to get where we are now. But now with this release, it’s starting to be understood and starting to work out.”

Kaonashi will be making the following appearances this summer in the U.S., UK and Europe. Dates below with more to be added soon.

31 — Tampa, FL — Crowbar #

01 — Atlanta, GA — The Masquerade #
02 — Chapel Hill, NC — Local 506 #
04 — Baltimore, MD — Metro Baltimore #
05 — Amityville, NY — Amityville Music Hall #
07 — Philadelphia, PA — The Fillmore #
08 — Hartford, CT — The Webster #

28 — Nottingham, UK — Bodega Social *
30 — Bristol, UK —The Fleece *
31 — Southampton, UK — Joiners *

01 — Brighton, UK — Chalk *
02 — London, UK — The Garage *
03 — Leeds, UK — The Warehouse *
04 — Glasgow, UK — Core. A Celebration of Noise ^
06 — Newcastle, UK — Cluny 2 +
07 — Birmingham, UK — The Flapper +
08 — Norwich, UK — Voodoo Daddy’s +
09 — Antwerp, BE — Antwerp Music City +
11 — Trier, DE — villaWuller +
12 — Milan, IT — TBA +
13 — Stuttgart, DE — JuHa West +
15 — Bristol, UK — ArcTanGent 2024 ^
16 — Odense, DK — ILTER Festival ^

# — supporting Boundaries
* — with The Fall of Troy and Hail The Sun
+ — headline date
^ — festival date

A Second Chance at Forever: The Brilliant Lies from Casey Diamond track list:
1. Blood Red Camry Dance Party
2. C.A.S.E.Y
3. Passing Through The Hourglass
4. Straycations
5. Exit Pt. VI (The Guilt In The Rearview)