Today, metalcore act Texas In July announce Without Reason, the band’s first new body of music in nine years. The five song EP is set for release November 17th on Equal Vision Records and is available for preorder HERE. After returning in June with the release of single “False Divinity,” Texas In July now shares “Put To Death,” continuing to showcase the band – J.T. Cavey (vocals), Adam Gray (drums), Ben Witkowski (bass), Chris Davis (guitar), and Christian Royer (guitar) – penchant for writing incredibly heavy and riff-filled metalcore. On the track, aggressive vocals move from clear to guttural, rapid-fire drum work crosses massive sounding guitars leading into an intense breakdown, and the whole thing ends with lyrics that are primed to make for a fan-favorite shout-along. You can watch the music video for “Put To Death” featuring live footage HERE and stream the song HERE.

On the song, bassist Ben Witkowski states:
“‘Put To Death’ is in its own world. It’s darker and faster and was written differently than the rest of the songs on the EP. It is relentless and in your face, with a wild black metal-sounding chorus – hearing a range from JT that has never been recorded and the fastest double bass Adam has ever tracked. It’s an uncanny change of pace that we all love.

The song itself is about following the leader instead of carving your path—the result of conforming to ordinariness and not seeking what is most important to you.”

Originally formed in Pennsylvania in 2007, Texas In July quickly became a staple act in the metalcore scene, performing frequently alongside bands such as We Came As Romans, The Devil Wears Prada, and Of Mice & Men. With four albums and an EP to their name, including the fan-lauded Bloodwork released in 2014, the band decided to part ways in 2015. With Cavey taking over lead vocals for Erra and guitarist Chris Davis joining The Ghost Inside, it wasn’t until during the pandemic that the band began chatting about coming back to the stage. On December 29th, 2021 Texas In July performed in their home state of Pennsylvania to an immense welcome, followed by two more shows in 2022. The feeling of playing together was invigorating and the fan response unmatched, leading the band to once again hit the studio for what would become Without Reason.

Working with Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland at Atrium Audio in Lancaster, PA, Texas In The July have crafted five striking songs (tracklist below) that show their resilience and artistry. The EP is relentlessly heavy, cut through by soaring choruses and dream-like melodic moments that offer an innovative sound. With the release of Without Reason, Texas In July are cementing themselves as a band that is a must listen for metal fans new and old.

Without Reason Tracklist:
1. False Divinity
2. Razor’s Edge
3. Put To Death
4. Digital Hellscape
5. Goodbye

Upcoming Shows:
11/18 – San Diego, CA @ Soma w/ The Ghost Inside, Drain, Gideon
12/8 – Lancaster, PA @ Freedom Hall w/ August Burns Red, Bodysnatcher