Today, UK band The Nightmares have released their debut album Séance, out on Equal Vision Records and Venn Records (UK/EU). Centered around recurring themes of death, love and mourning, The Nightmares create a dark, yet hopeful sound blending noir-pop, post-punk, goth, and alternative. A life-changing experience with the other side inspired what would become the ten tracks on Séance, resulting an infectious and powerful debut album, conveying a message of paranormal love and supernatural fear.

To celebrate the release, the band has shared a music video for “Murder Season” which features guest vocals from Creeper’s Will Gould. The synth-driven track is dark and bright at once, deriving from bands like AFI and The Cure, speaking through lyrics of want and regret. Drenched in red light, the band give a captivating performance alongside Gould.

On the album, bassist Benjamin T. Mainwaring states:
“Séance is a record born out of a shared love of the macabre… a longing to express the darker thoughts and deeper emotions of life. Channeled through the practice of attempted communication with spirits from beyond this world. We started to dip our toes into the world of the seance, and the experiences we went through would inform the writing of the record.

I am totally convinced that what happened in these experiments were real. And they have stuck with me. I have nothing but respect for the spirits and I understand the gravity and weight that comes with communication with other worlds. It is not to be taken lightly.”

Having already played tours and supported acts like Holding Absence, Casey, Tiger Army and Salem, the band have been able to create a haunting and memorable live show. Fans can catch the band performing cuts from the album and previous works in the UK this April on tour with Miss Vincent, dates below.

The Nightmares is Adam Parslow (Lead Vocals, Guitar), Eleanor Coburn (Keys, Vocals), Benjamin T. Mainwaring (Bass), and James Mattock (Drums, Backing Vocals).

Séance Tracklist:
1. It Follows
2. Pink and Grey
3. From Above
4. Cursed
5. Heartless
6. Murder Season Ft. Will Gould
7. Evermore
8. Let the Light In
9. For Heaven’s Sake
10. Everything Pretty Changing